When life gets in the way of running.

Standard

Sometimes Family things get in the way of running…the same with work things….sometimes social things get in the way. If this is the case you can always pick a different sport.ImageToday I went to Chiba Prefecture where we have  a house which we are renovating.This meant leaving early in the morning and coming back to Tokyo in the early evening. It also meant that it was dark when I pulled on the old running shoes.

Now running in the dark is not hard per se. But in Tokyo in the early evening you have thousand ( make that tens of thousands) of salary men coming home from work….you have people who walk their dogs on long invisible leads.And of course in this country bike riders ride on the pavement.

I ran the canals again tonight. They  at least have reasonable lighting for a lot of the way. I was feeling ok when some some young guy passed me. I had to run very very hard to get past him. Made me feel a bit sick. Certainly brings it home to me with a vengeance how slow and unfit I am. It’s been a long time since I have run this fast. Running races on the track is still a distant dream.

3 thoughts on “When life gets in the way of running.

  1. Gwen Stephens

    You’ve got a great blog going here. You should create an “About” page, so new readers can learn more about you and the purpose of your blog.
    Not sure if you intended to do so, but you “followed” my blog 16 times. 😀

All replies welcome.

