Marathon Training means resting as well as running.

Standard

image

After 17 plus Km with Peter on Wednesday and a hard 9 Km alone yesterday afternoon followed by a track race in the evening ( ok an easy track race !) it was time to insert a bit of rest into my Melbourne Marathon program.

Took it easy today and ran a steady 6 Km. I did not Garmin it or even time it as that would make me want to run a bit faster. Conditions were great for running and it was nice to cruise along if only for a short distance.

Did only 50 push ups and 100 stomach crunches today.

In the past I have always thought more was better. But now that I am older and wiser(??) I see the advantage of taking a rest day. I shall continue to do this and see what happens.

All replies welcome.

