Marathon Recovery: Not Well

Standard

image

Yesterday I arrived in Japan. It seems whenever I fly these days I get sick the next day. I woke feeling ill and got worse during the day. Mainly just a cold I think.

My aim is to run everyday. But today I did not feel that flash and it is only 5 days since I ran the Melbourne Marathon. However once out on the roads of Tokyo I did not feel much pain. I only ran 5 Km again. I could have run further but I am trying to moderate my running and recover. With about a mile to go I increased the pace ( into the wind I may add) and felt I finished the run fairly well. Didn’t feel super good afterwards but I did it.

When I get ill which fortunately is not that often , I give myself one day to recover. I think I am almost better now. Tomorrow I want to run and do a gym session. No time to slack off….another race is just around the bend.

All replies welcome.

