Marathon : Reality Check

Standard

My third day of training made it very clear to me how far I have to go to be able to run the Tokyo Marathon in exactly eight weeks time!!!

I have all the excuses…didn’t sleep well,sore knee,feeling fat….temperature 26 degrees..
But in truth today I just found the distance hard. And the reason for that is that I am just unfit.

This morning I ran the Holmesglen Garden Centre route…so called because I run to the Holmesglen Garden centre and back. 🙂

It is a fairly hilly course and by the time I got to 10 Km I was feeling none too flash and my knee was again beginning to hurt. The sun seemed to be directed directly on to me as well! 🙂

image

I increased the pace and ran the second 10 Km ( actually a bit less than 10 Km ) quite a bit faster. I use the term fast very liberally. I did run the last two hills quite well I thought.

Today’s run was less than 20 Km so I was shown in no uncertain terms that I still have a great deal of work to do to be able to run again.

I will just have to push myself more.

image.

One good thing is that my weight is down to 64.8 Kgm.
Also my Blood pressure ( after running ) was 108/80.

I will continue with my plan of easy training to start with…and then ramp it up.

Eight weeks until Tokyo….15 weeks till Paris.

3 thoughts on “Marathon : Reality Check

  1. Paris? You’re all over the place! How do you afford all that? Let me learn how to do that. 🙂 And as for your training, we always feel that way anyway… it comes and goes, I think… Keep it up! 🙂

    • Thanks….you read about people feeling fantastic when they run 20 Km but sometimes the reality is different. 🙂 Anyway we shall see what next week brings. Thanks for encouragement. oh and not to forget Melbourne in October 🙂

  2. Well, Melbourne would not require too much of traveling, would it? Once you’re done, you’d be back home anyway… But, that’s crazy that you travel (I got that your significant other is Japanese) from Japan to France and then back home? Don’t tell me you’ll be in another country soon… I’ll be soon jealous! LOL 🙂

All replies welcome.

