Race: Not too good

Standard

Yesterday I raced for my Australian Club,Old Scotch,around the Mecca of running in Melbourne,The Tan.

I believe I tried hard enough but was just slow with a capital slow.

My Heart Rate was well up ( my max is meant to be 157 ) with a figure at 182 at it’s highest.But as much as I tried I took a long time to complete my leg of the relay.

image

I ran the first Km in 4.20 and then struggled from then on. The third Km which consists mostly of a very large hill took me 5.15. Last Km 4.36. Average 4.45. Pretty poor.

I trained well on the evening before the race and also trained in the morning of the day of the race. Almost all club races are in the afternoon which always gives me a chance to get another training session done in the morning before racing.

TODAY:SUNDAY
Tamami away playing golf today so it was lunch alone again and then a run by myself in the afternoon.

Feeling a bit down after yesterday’s poor race I struggled to get out the door.

Leaving a cold empty house alone,run alone on a bleak Winter Sunday afternoon in Melbourne and come home to a cold empty house, holds little appeal.

Pushed myself over about 6 Km in half an hour or so and then called it quits. No energy or desire to run more. Just stopped.
Call it a recovery run. Although recovery from what?

image

Wore an old pair of racing shoes today. They certainly felt light but made a massive noise as they hit the ground. Or maybe it was just me plodding.

All replies welcome.

