Marathon Report: Gold Coast Marathon

Standard

Last Sunday I ran the Gold Coast Marathon for the 4 th time. Previousely I had run this race in 1983,1984 and 2013.
The only good thing to be said about Sunday’s race was that I finished. Apart
from that it was a pretty miserable outing on the roads of Surfers Paradise.

image

RECENT MARATHONS : After running the Seoul Marathon late last year I was in a bad way and could not run much at all.
However I was lucky enough to gain entry into the Tokyo Marathon in February this year.Despite carrying injuries I managed to slowly jog through in a fraction under 4 hours.
I was also lucky enough to get into the Paris Marathon. However for that French race I chose not to take any gels or much water on a sunny day. I simply ran out of energy after 34 Km and walked through a drink station. Could not really get going again and finished in 3-55.

LAST YEAR in the Melbourne Marathon I qualified for the 2016 BOSTON Marathon by 7 minutes. OK I suppose but I was greedy and thought I should be able to improve on that in the Gold Coast Marathon. If you beat the qualifying time by 10 minutes you are permitted to enroll for the Boston Marathon a day earlier that the slower runners.

GOLD COAST MARATHON :

I started slowly with 5.30 for the first Km and 5.21 for the second. I then dropped the pace down to 5.15 which felt very comfortable.This was to plan and all looked good.

Feeling pretty good and ran to 20 Km at around 5.10 pace.Found this easy.

However despite feeling ok by 25 Km I was down to running at 5.20 pace.

Some where between 25-30 I walked through a drink station and that was pretty much the end for me.
From about 32 Km onwards I simply jogged/walked to finish is about 4 hours.

I was very sick after the race and only lived thanks to the help Tamami San provided.

image

MISTAKES:
In the Paris Marathon I crashed due to lack of Gels etc.
For the Gold Coast I took Gels every 8 Kms.

However when I look at my training for last Sunday’s race, I note that my longest training run after Paris was 25 Km and I only did that once. I also struggled in that particular training run after 21 Km.

I think that I simply did not have enough training for time on my feet.
When I ran the Gold Coast Marathon in 1983 I would run for 2 hours then gather myself for a 50 minute or so push to the finish. NOW of course I run for 2 hours and I am barely half way with close to 1 hour 45 to the finish ( or in some cases a miserable 2 hours ).

I thought I would be good on the day….obviously I was wrong.

So it was a a very disappointing outing.

FUTURE PLANS : 14 weeks until the Melbourne Marathon.
I have run Melbourne 13 times since 1979.PB 2-51 ( I think that is written in stone).
My aim is to run The Melbourne Marathon 15 times and then retire from that particular race….
Melbourne clashes with Chicago,Berlin,Dublin….I would like to knock those races off before I turn 70.

image

One thought on “Marathon Report: Gold Coast Marathon

  1. Well, what is done is done. Move on to the next goal. By the way, if I get qualified in late August and/or mid-September for the Boston Marathon, we may be able to meet up! Anyway, keep running!

All replies welcome.

