Marathon Training: Struggling

Standard

With less than 7 weeks to go until the Melbourne Marathon I am still suffering from pain in my heel…or is it Achilles?

I have backed off my running and believe I am feeling a little better.
I am having a daily massage and am icing a number of times a day.
Have also cut the backs off my running shoes.
I have even purchased a book on kindle…..

image

THE WEEK SO FAR :

MONDAY: AM: Gym 62 minutes.
PM: 3 Km. 6.12/5.24/4.47

TUESDAY:Track….but no sprints…just about 4 Km slow jog.

WEDNESDAY : Ran to Gym ( 3km)..used new Garmin…5.40/5.25/5.26
Gym…32 minutes…upper body.
Ran home from Gym…4.59/4.52/4.37…tried to ignore pain.

THURSDAY: AM: Gym 60 minutes…Upper body and some leg work.
PM : 6 Km….no Garmin or watch.

image

RACE : I will run as a fairly fast pacer for a Half Marathon on Sunday. If I can get this done with only a moderate amount of pain the Marathon will be a possibility.

WEIGHT….I now weigh 67.2 Kilos….but I am not too concerned at this stage.

HEART rate….seems to be going up….but again I am not too worried at this stage.

image

BLOOD PRESSURE….seems ok

image

All replies welcome.

