MELBOURNE MARATHON : 15 weeks.

Standard

I could not overcome my sore foot injury but ran the BOSTON Marathon anyway. Certainly a great experience. Hot windy day on a very hilly course gave me a time over 4 hours. But this WAS The Boston Marathon( 120  th running of). Glad I did it.imageNOW back in MELBOURNE and training for my 15 th Melbourne Marathon.

I have started a 15 week program with Pat Carroll a 2-09 Marathon runner.

So far I have completed TWO weeks of Pat’s program.

My ankle/heel/foot injury/pain pretty much stops me doing TOO much running.

I have just finished reading Frank Shorter’s book. Olympic Marathon G old Medalist in 1972.  He says ” ride the pain “. I try Frank.

Before I started training for the Melbourne Marathon I ran the Gold Coast H alf Marathon.  It did not go well. 😦 Finished well but that was all. Foot hurt all the way and I felt sick from the start ( 6 AM start did not help ). Time was 1-49.  Not happy.

imageI following Pat’s program pretty much to the letter.

Also racing with my Melbourne based club Old Scotch Athletic Club.

 

Stand by for more interesting blog posts.

 

 

All replies welcome.

