MARATHON training :Onwards

Standard

Ten weeks until the Melbourne Marathon. Following program set for me by 2-9 Marathon runner Pat Carroll.

I am trying to run and follow the program but it is far from easy. My foot/heel never seems to get better although perhaps wearing new orthotics is helping somewhat.

My week of training was as follows…first is what Pat says I should do and following that is what I actually did.

MONDAY : Rest day. I ran a solid 26 km the day before so I was not feeling up to much. Ran an easy 6 km with Mi Chan. Whole body hurt. 😦

TUESDAY : Pat said do a 3 km Time trial. However I just did not have the will power so did an easy 3 km and then 15 hill sprints. Also went to the Gym and worked hard on both upper body and legs.

image

WEDNESDAY : Plan was to run 80 minutes. I ran for 80.03. Did not go well as I was ill after 40 minutes. First time I have stopped to be sick during a training run. Ran the last couple of Kms hard.Right foot very sore.

THURSDAY : Plan was to run for 50 minutes. I ran for 50 minutes. Not too bad. Ran the first Km with Mi Chan which was good and probably helped me. Also wore light shoes which  made me feel more like a real runner  rather than a sick slow fat plodder with a limp.

 

image

FRIDAY : Pat said 30 minutes. I only ran for 15 minutes as my leg hurt and I had a race the next day. A bit lazy I know. 😦

SATURDAY : Morning….ran a fairly quick 3 km with Mi chan. Leg hurt a lot but I kind of expect that. A bit lazy I know but with the race in the afternoon I did not want to run too far.

RACE : Went ok. Finished 9 th and won my age group. Not really my surface with stairs to climb up and down and about a km at the end on sand. I could have run faster but was not brave enough to push the pace early in the race.

image

SUNDAY: This is long run day but I felt sore from yesterday and just did not have the will power to run. Did a steady enough 7 km pushing up some hills. Felt a bit sick. Leg hurt a lot.

SO….an up and down week. Got a bit of running in and a race so I suppose that was OK. I certainly have a long way to go before I can run the Marathon.

I read Frank Shorter’s new book…he says ” Ride the Pain “. I will try Frank.

All replies welcome.

