MARATHON: Struggle.

Standard

With six weeks to go until the Melbourne Marathon I am still trying to follow the schedule set out for me by Marathon runner Pat Carroll.

My latest week of training finished with a long run which had both good points and bad.

Monday : Pat said ‘ rest’. I was still sore from the Half Marathon race the day before so I ran an easy 3 km.

Tuesday: Pat said ” 50 minutes”. I ran for 25 minutes and then did a U turn. Finished in 48.20 which was maybe too fast. Right calf still sore from Sunday’s race.

This black and white photo is of Tamami and I after the Long Run. I was certainly very well at that time. But it was not to last.image

image

Wednesday: Pat said ” one hour “. Tamami drove me away from home and I ran home. I had hoped it would take me 60 minutes but did it in 50. Ankle still very sore. Had to stop three times for road crossing so not really much of a run but better than nothing.

Thursday: Pat said ” 50 minutes”. Warm day (22 degrees). Leg still sore. Ran an ok 6 km with a strong finish after a very slow( limping) start.

Friday/Saturday: I knew if I was going to have any chance of running on Sunday I could not do much these days. ran 3 Kms on both days.Ankle still hurt and I had a slight cold. Also not sleeping well as of late. ( I have lots of excuses )

Sunday : LONG RUN : met up with two young friends and Together with Tamami ran along path near the sea.

We started at a moderate pace and ran the first 14 Kms together. When the others stopped for a drink ( I never stop or drink) I increased the pace and ran away from them.

I was going quite well and was well ahead. despite my foot starting to hurt a great deal I planned to try and push the run hard for the next 11 km. Then just in front of me  just after 19 Kms a young guy crashed his bike in dramatic fashion. It actually flipped and landed on top of him. Being such a nice guy I stopped and helped him. The others then caught up.

Tamami who is just starting her  Marathon Training finished at 23 km and I ran on to complete about 30 km. A bit weary at the finish but generally ok. No trouble walking to the car and changing and of course taking a selfie for Face Book. 🙂

Back to the car and then to a nice restaurant for some coffee and lunch with running friends and a couple of other runners.

Unfortunately just as my meal arrived I started to feel bad….then really bad. I tried walking down the street but could not do it and sort of collapsed on the street….although I did not faint. Three people came up and offered to call a doctor ( or ambulance!). Bit of Karma….I help some bike rider and then strangers offer help to me !

Felt incredibly bad and thought I would pass out. All I could do was sit with  my back against a fence whilst people walked by thinking ” what is up with this guy sitting on the ground in a cool track suit?” 🙂

Tamami drove me home and I spent the rest of the day on the bed watching the football…..well actually this is often my Sunday activity. 🙂

I am thinking that my no water policy whilst training can be changed perhaps. Also I think I should eat something just after I finish a long run.

2 thoughts on “MARATHON: Struggle.

All replies welcome.

