Marathon in a Month

Standard

Only FIVE weeks until the Melbourne Marathon. I am still trying to follow the schedule of Champion Marathon Runner,Pat Carroll. However after becoming quite ill after last Sunday’s 30 km run with friends my confidence is pretty low.

MONDAY : Pat said ‘ rest’ and after a miserable run the day before I was happy to do so. Ran 3 km.whole body felt sore.

TUESDAY: Plan was 50 minutes. I did not time my run but probably  a bit less than that. I ran the last km hard in 4.46. Legs still sore from Sunday’s run. Or maybe that was just in my mind.

WEDNESDy : Plan was for 90 minutes. Again I wimped out. Raining heavily the whole run,I managed a fairly quick 10 km over a hilly course in just over 52 minutes. Felt a lot faster. It was getting dark and I stepped in lots of puddles. Hills did not help either.

image

THURSDAY: Schedule said 50 minutes. Again heavy rain ( does it never stop). Ran my usual 6 km. Felt a bit sick but glad to have done it in so miserable conditions.

FRIDAY : Working hard all day and could not run. Ran 3 km in the evening in the dark. RAIN at least had stopped.

SATURDAY: Plan was 50 minutes but decided to save my self for Sunday’s long run. Ran 5 km with Julz in beautiful weather ( this is Melbourne of course).

image

SUNDAY….LONG RUN…….I was going to try 30 km  and avoid being ill like I was last week. A week ago I was dizzy and could not even stand. I don’t think this should be the case. New plans needed.

Tamami and I drove about 11km from home then left the car. We then ran home. It was 11 degrees but the rain made it feel a lot colder. After an hour I stopped and drank some water and had a gel. We then did a U turn and ran back to our starting point. My foot was hurting most of the way and Tamami was also struggling but still helping me along.

At 20 km I stopped again and had a gel and drank the remainder of my water. Tamami then went back to the car and drove home whilst I did another U turn and ran home.

I tried to run a bit faster. Even though it does not sound that fast my last 3 Kms were 5.13….5.10….4.48. Over some solid hills ( although perhaps going down the other side might have helped).

When I finished running Tamami met me and gave me a banana to eat. I didn’t feel that bad and certainly didn’t faint and did not even collapse on the ground. So that was a big plus.

image

An OK run but I am well aware that I stopped at least twice and that 30 km is well short of the Marathon distance.

ONE month to go.

Oh and my weight is now 65.2 Kgms. Resting Heart Rate 43.

 

4 thoughts on “Marathon in a Month

All replies welcome.

