Marathon : Getting close now.

Standard

From today it is only Three weeks until the Melbourne Marathon. I am certainly far from ready but still trying to follow Champion Marathon Runner Pat Carroll ‘s training schedule. This week has been as follows :

MONDAY : Pat says it is a rest today. I was still sore from the 30 km run yesterday so was happy to run just 3 km.

TUESDAY : Training plan said 50 minutes. I switched to my lighter shoes and pushed myself and ran 44.16. Even though I felt a bit ill it was a reasonable run.

WEDNESDAY : Plan said 1 hour 30 minutes. I ran the same as I ran yesterday and then kept on going and ran it again. Total running 1-29.20. Found this hard,especially the hills which I tried to run fast. What I call fast. 🙂 Did not feel very well but that means little. Happy to run hard whilst feeling sick.

image

 

THURSDAY : Plan said another 5o minutes but was sore from my effort yesterday and was rostered as an official for the Masters. Just a short jog.Leg still very sore.

FRIDAY : 20 minutes fartlek. Ran a bit less than this. Feeling a bit better but hard to hit the roads on a Friday evening.

SATURDAY : Plan was for 50 minutes. Ran with Julz which was fun.  Did not time it but probably just sky of 50. An ok run although I think  was still a bit some from Wednesday’s run.

 

image

SUNDAY : Plan called for a 2 hour 40 minute run. I ran with Tamami and Matt and Konico Bowden. I picked the route and chose a hard hilly course. Run was ok and we ran somewhere between 31 and 32 km. Took about 2-55. I was not concerned with the pace but just happy to keep going. After finishing I again had a banana. This plus taking two gels and drinking water probably helped me quite a bit. At no stage did I feel faint. However felt a bit sore….but maybe running for three hours does that to one. 🙂

Week was ok I guess….I still have a long way to go to run the Marathon in three weeks time.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Marathon : Getting close now.

    • Thanks. I have had a bad heel/ankle/heel for over a year now. Just one leg. Apart from pain the only drawback is that I can’t get much drive. Hope your own running going well.

All replies welcome.

