TWO WEEKS TILL RACE.

Standard

Only two weeks until the Melbourne Marathon.

This last week has been a little bit different to my normal training but I think it has been a reasonably worthwhile week.The aim is of course not to train just for the sake of training but to enable  me to run 42.2 Km.

MONDAY : After a solid 31 km run on the Sunday I took it very easy and ran just 3 km.

TUESDAY : I have sold my office building and have a ton ( ten tons) of guff accumulated over the last 30 years. Spent most of the day moving boxes and going up and down stairs. Too tired to run so only 3 Kms in the evening.

WEDNESDAY : Plan was for medium run of say an hour and a half. I decided to run shorter and wearing my light weight racing flats ran a hard ( for me) 7 Kms. It was quite fun to get out and stretch my legs after days of inactivity.

THURSDAY : Plan was again to get a medium long run of say 20 Kms. Tamami was to run the first half with me. However in the first Km my legs felt very sore due I suspect running hard the day before. Tamami is very good running down hills whilst I am very poor at this. After about 3 km she raced down from a steep bridge and left me behind. I took three Kms to catch her ( not good). After I passed her I really pushed myself hard to the end. I thought she was right behind me but in fact she stopped with 3 km to go…live to fight another day….wise move.

Quite happy as I beat my best time for that course by 2 minutes and 6 seconds.

FRIDAY and Saturday…..just easy jogging. Spent all Saturday at the Football Grand Final so only got out late at night.

image

SUNDAY : Tamami has a bit of an injury so ran a solid 30 km in the morning with me manning the drink station at 10 and 20 km.

image

I did not get out till almost 6 PM and just lacked the Will power to run for two hours…actually I was quite hungry and not feeling so great.Tamami drove me out about 11 km and I ran home. Again using my light weight shoes. Foot hurt a bit but I enjoyed the run knowing it would be fairly short. There were some quite steep hills which I enjoyed trying to run up hard although I was my usual woeful self on the way down. Generally a not so stressful 57 minute run.

image

Weight 66.2 Kgms. Resting Heart Rate 44.

Two weeks until I run my 15 th Melbourne Marathon.

 

All replies welcome.

